Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information

      рус  eng    
printer friendly

The International Centre of the Roerichs Board

The Board of the ICR (until 1992, the Roerichs Soviet Fund) was formed in 1990. According to the ICR Charter:

- In a period between the Conferences, management of the Centre to be carried out by the Board, elected by the Conference for a term of six years. The procedure for election and recall of Board members shall be determined by the Conference;

- The Board shall consist of President, Vice Presidents and Board members elected by the Conference. The Board of the Centre shall be a permanent governing collegiate body exercising the right of legal entity on behalf of the Centre and performing its duties in compliance with the law in force;

The main task of the Board is to develop directions of the Centre's activity and to carry out management of the Centre and its branches in a period between the Conferences. To fulfil this task

The Board of the Centre is obliged to:

- prepare and convene the Conference of the Centre, determine the order of representation at the Conference;

- develop main activities and programs of the Centre;

- recommend to the Conference a candidature for the position of Director General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich with the status of First Vice-President of the Centre, who forms the Directorate of the Museum, approve the Regulations, the manning table of the Museum and supervise its activities as well as activities of its subdivisions;

- set up commissions, committees, art groups, councils, organize their activities, adopt regulations on them, hear and approve annual reports on their work;

- to accept public associations- legal entities as members of the Centre, and expel members from the Centre;

- hear and approve reports of heads of the branches, affiliates, representative offices;

- organize and hold congresses, symposia, conferences, seminars, exhibitions on activities corresponding to Charter of the Centre;

- grant on behalf of the Centre prizes, awards, and scholarships;

- decide on the establishment of the Centre branches and affiliates in Russia and abroad, appoints their Heads, adopts a Branch Regulation;

- coordinate international relations of the Centre.

At present the ICR Board consists of:

1. Alexey V. Postnikov, Academician of the International Academy of the History of Science (Paris), Honoured Scientist of Russia, Professor, Doctor of Sciences

2. Lyudmila V. Shaposhnikova, Director-General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich, First Vice-President of the International Centre of the Roerichs, Honored Art Worker of Russia, Academician of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences and the Russian Academy of Cosmonautics by name of K.E. Tsiolkovsky

3. Marina L. Popovich, Vice-President of the International Centre of the Roerichs, Doctor of Sciences, Professor, Vice-Principal of the International Institute of Management, Academician of the Peter's Academy of Sciences and Arts

4. Shalva A. Amonashvily, Doctor of Psychology, Professor, Honorary Academician of the Russian Academy of Education

5. Boris I. Bulochnik, Counsellor of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, Chairman of the Board of Master-Bank

6. Ivan P. Kazansky, Chairman of the Sculptors' section of the Moscow Union of Artists, Chairman of the Board of the Association of the Moscow Sculptors, Full Member of the Russian Academy of Arts

7. Anatoly Y. Karpov — President of the International Association of Peace Foundations, Chess Grandmaster and repeated world champion, President of the International Chernobyl Help Organization, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the New Names International charitable programme, a UNISEF ambassador

8. Oleg L. Kuznetsov — Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor, President of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, President of Dubna International University, the USSR State Prize laureate

9. Galina I. Malanicheva, Chair of the Central Council of the All-Russian Society for Protection of Historical and Cultural Monuments, Member of Commission of the Public Chamber on preservation and development of native culture

10. Eugeni M. Primakov — Academician, Member of the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, the USSR State Prize laureate

11. Alexander V. Stetsenko, First Deputy Director General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich

12. Viktor V. Frolov, Doctor of Sciences, Professor of the Moscow State Forest University