Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information

      рус  eng    

Since April 28, 2017, the Non-Governmental Museum Named after Nicholas Roerich went defunct with the illegal seizure of its building and territory.

printer friendly
PAGES  News|Site news|#SaveRoerichMuseum


Anniversary Congress of Europa Nostra, Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage

Anniversary Congress of Pan-European Federation Europa Nostra took place on 13-17 June, 2013 in Athens, an ancient capital of Greece, the cradle of European culture. Hundreds of professionals, volunteers and votaries of art from Greece and other European countries participated in the Congress. This event was jointly organized by Europa Nostra and Europa Nostra's Country Representation in Greece, Ellinki Etairia (Society for the Environment and Cultural Heritage) with the support of Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs, Culture and Sport of Greece.

The culmination of the celebration was the 50th Anniversary General Assembly in the Acropolis Museum and the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage in the Odeon of Herodes Atticus. It is a great stone theater structure, an old Greek music venue with a capacity of 5,000 that was built in 161 AD . 30 outstanding achievements from 15 countries have been chosen for an Award in the four following areas : 1) conservation 2) research projects 3) dedicated service to heritage conservation 4) education, training and awareness-raising initiatives. All projects and initiatives were assessed by independent experts from different countries throughout the year. Then they were judged by one of the four Heritage Awards Juries. In Category 1 the winners are: Spain (4 prizes), Germany (2 prizes), UK (2 prizes), Portugal (2 prizes), Italy, the Netherlands, Greece, Hungary and Estonia. The Grand Prix for culture heritage preservation is taken by the winning Estonian project the «Tallinn Seaplane Harbour», Strawberry Hill in the United Kingdom and two Spanish projects – «Roman Theater of Medellin» and restoration of the first Spanish Premonstratensian abbey into a new hotel estate Abadia Retuera LeDomaine. In Category 2 the winners are Belgium, Poland, Spain and Switzerland. The Grand Prix is taken by authors of the Belgian project «Restoration of the Exceptional Machines of Wielemans-Ceuppens Brewery». In Category 3 the winners are France, Germany, Greece, Portugal and United Kingdom, the Grand Prix is taken by representatives of the «Association for the Promotion of Art and Culture in the Eastern Part of Germany» and the Committee for the Conservation of the Acropolis Monuments (Athens). In Category 4 the prize went to Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Spain and United Kingdom. The Grand Prix is taken by authors of the project «SOS Azulejo Project» (Portugal).

The top and prestigious award by the Heritage Awards Juries went to the hosts of the ceremony (Greece) for the project of restoration of Propylaea Central Building of the Acropolis in Athens. A group of specialists in architecture and preservation of cultural heritage was carrying out the research on a voluntary basis for 35 years.

Each awarded project was further given an encouragement prize of 1000 euros.

The Award Giving Ceremony was held in presence of the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, Androulla Vassiliou, Europa Nostra's President, Placido Domingo and Europa Nostra's former President, H.R.H. The Prince Consort of Denmark.

Europa Nostra Council Meeting was held on the eve of the Award Giving Ceremony with the participation of the ICR representative. The International Centre of the Roerichs is a Member of Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage Europa Nostra since 2011.

Athens, 12 June 2013 – Within the program Europe's 7 Most Endangered Monuments and Sites the European heritage organization Europa Nostra together with the European Investment Bank made the announcement of the 7 most threatened landmarks in Europe at a press conference dedicated to the 50th Europa Nostra Anniversary Congress. According to the competent experts these gems of Europe's cultural and natural heritage are in danger due to lack of funds or expertise, inadequate planning, neglect, natural disaster or even political conflict. The Most Endangered Heritage Sites in Europe are Roman Amphitheatre of Durres in Albania; Buffer zone in the Historic Centre of Nicosia in Cyprus; Vauban's 17th Century Fortifications in Briançon in France ; Renaissance Monastery of San Benedetto Po in Italy; 15th Century Monastery in Setubal in Portugal; Historic Mining Landscape of Rosia Montana in Romania and Armenian Church of St. George in Mardin in Turkey.

In the near future particular attention needs to be urgently given to preservation of these unique monuments of culture.

Back to the list