Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs


Director General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich, Moscow was awarded with the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2010


This award is given for the greatest achievements in maintaining and preserving Europe's shared cultural heritage. The European Commission and Europa Nostra announced 29 winners from 15 countries for the 2010 Edition of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage. The winners have been selected from nearly 140 submitted projects, stemming from 26 countries. The selection of Laureates is made by one of the 4 Heritage Awards Juries, composed of independent experts from across Europe. The Jury highly appreciated Ms L. Shaposhnikova work for preservation of cultural heritage as well as her contribution in restoration of the ancient estate of the Lopukhins that houses now the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich. The selfless activity of the Director General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich suggests that dedicated service, clarity of purpose and professionalism can lead to success. Despite all the difficulties she strived for the preservation of the Roerich family legacy and won.

The awards will be presented during the 8th Annual European Heritage Awards Ceremony, taking place in Istanbul, Turkey on 10 June 2010, as part of the Europa Nostra Annual Congress. These events contribute to the celebration of Istanbul as a European Capital of Culture 2010 and are included in the official programme of Istanbul 2010.

Back to the list


© 2001—2022 International Centre of the Roerichs